Memories in a Song

A line in a song, a riff in a melody, sometimes it just takes you back to a special place in time. I love music. I live my life to the lyrics in a song (or maybe songs are just written about me really often). Some songs bring me right back to a memory of a time in my life that make me smile & some make me burst out in laughter.

Into the Mystic by Van Morrison is no different.

Let me take a you back a few years…

I was tending bar at a local club. We played all sorts of music. One night, I heard a song that I had never heard before. That song was (you guessed it) Into the Mystic.

The melody was beautiful and the words struck me right to the core, but it was what happened next that I remember most vividly.

I looked out into the bar and there it was. A vision I will never forget. Mystic dancing on stage. She danced so beautifully as she interpreted the dance. The way she worked the pole to the ever-so-sensual beat of the song. And I wanna rock your gypsy soul…

So I may have left out a few details. The “club” I was tending bar at was a strip club. Mystic, the dancer, was a stripper. And now, a beautiful, romantic song has this fantastic memory associated with it.

Leave a Reply

